The Shrinking Man: dropping below size 30

The last time I bought a pair of jeans was around the turn of the year 2011/2012, about 3 months ago. I was pretty proud of the fact that I could fit into a size 31, which I picked up out of the clearance bin at Uniqlo Vivocity.

Ah, the pleasures of being able to buy sizes nobody wants.

So, last weekend, I walked into Uniqlo again, this time at Somerset 313. I’ve actually been wanting to buy a second pair of jeans to replace all my wookie-sized jeans from my Fat Era, since said turn of the year, but I never got down to it.

I suppose it was a good reason to be negligent. Read on.

So, last weekend, as I was saying, I walked into Uniqlo again. Truth is, I was glad the Winter season was over, since, well, Winter season wear mainly elicits wry smiles and awkward looks in tropical Singapore. Yes yes we do have genuinely cold weather here, but it isn’t wintry. At the most, we could do spring cool. And yes, thank goodness, the clothes look fabulously wearable this month.

Yes, as I was saying, I walked into Uniqlo again, looking for a new pair of jeans. I was stopped immediately at the main entrance….

$69.90 –> $49.90 LIMITED SALE

Yes.

Darker blue. Fine. I fingered through the rack. 34, 32, 34, 34, 31, 32, 33, 31, 30, 32…

Yes, there’s a 30, one single pair! And I have to say, it is a totally new feeling for me to be picking out clothes from the slimmest end of the size range.

I brought it to the fitting room, with jolly. No queue! I quickly slipped it on and…. looks good!

Waitaminute… it’s loose.

It can’t be. I thought to myself. I’m still a little fat. See here, ouch, still have love handles. Surely 30 is right…. OK, here’s something interesting, I can alllllmost use this pair of jeans without altering the length, cos I’m more or less standard proportions now. In the past, I needed to cut like 3½ kilometres from the hem so it wouldn’t look like a squid’s denim jacket. Now that I’m slimmer and can fit into a 30, the length of the jeans becomes relatively shorter too.

Except, this 30 is loose.

I stepped out, slightly perplexed (and secretly a little gleeful). I hunted down a size 29 (this time from the main shelves, nearly hidden in one corner) and returned to the fitting room. Cool, still no queue, on a Sunday afternoon. (Where is everybody….)

As I slipped my legs into the jeans, it felt a little tighter than I expected. But then again, I’d always lived life wearing loose jeans, since I needed more waist space. I proceeded to zip up. Nah, I thought. Here is where it’s going to fail…

10 minutes later, I had the alteration measured, paid up and “Sir,” the young Uniqlo lady said to me at alteration services, “You can collect it at 2.30pm”.

Photo_18-3-12_10_05_03_pm

Never in my adult life did I ever imagined I would ever fit into a 29.

 

Leave a Reply

