How a weight loss guy treats himself on his birthday

Yesterday was my birthday – all 39 years of me. So, how does a person on a weight loss – or weight maintenance – regime treats himself, exactly?

With much awkwardness, multiple considerations and some guilt!

My friends keep telling me to treat myself. Half of the birthday wishes I’m getting involve telling me to eat! “Have a slice of chocolate cake!”

I must confess, the day before I was already starting to think about what I might eat, how I could treat myself. Roti prata with egg for breakfast, mee rebus with sardine puff, pizza, all went through my head. “I’m going to have mee goreng on my birthday!” I even told my wife.

It’s 1:31pm and none of these have happened yet. -_-

I was woken up at 7.55am by my littlest daughter, shouting “appy birday to you” amidst “daddy get up!”s Her first demand, as always, is to get me to prepare cereal, her favourite first course for breakfast. So,

8:15am. Post Honey Bunches of Oats cereal, less than 1/2 serving, with 3 strawberries and a handful of blueberries. I ate all the fruit.

It was early enough in the morning that I went downstairs and bought something I haven’t had in ages.

08:45am. Nasi Lemak with fried chicken wing, fried ikan bilis, omelette… and a hard-boiled egg. I gave all the yolk to the little girl and ate about 3/4 of the rice. This is an unhealthy meal by the way. U.n.h.e.a.l.t.h.y. A treat!

10:45am. I went for a jog. This is not a meal. It’s a negative meal. It’s to make up for the nasi lemak….

12:15pm. Yong tau hu soup with bee hoon. Lots of veggies. I ate 1/3 of the bee hoon. My wife had the rest.

Photo_17-1-12_10_48_13_pm

2:00pm. It’s my cake! My wife made me a carrot cake.

3:15pm. A plum, my usual mid-afternoon fruit snack.

5:40pm. We went out, as I did not fancy staying at home the whole day for my birthday. I wanted to go to Coffee Club at the IMM building. As a member, I get a free main course, which I missed having last year. I chose a Honey-glazed Chicken, marinated in lime, chili and honey, mainly because I decided it was best to skip the bread and the pastas, ha. It turned out surprisingly good. I also had a Caesar’s Salad with smoked salmon in a cheese bowl – very good, but very salty. I ended up drinking water almost non-stop for the rest of the night, and I’m sure there was some water retention.

Well, there’s no doubt that I’ve gained some weight over the course of today. I think it was worth it. :) We’ll see on Friday when my trainer returns.

2 thoughts on “How a weight loss guy treats himself on his birthday

  1. Yay! Thank you for sharing your food experience. I suggest that you try the best roti prata in Singapore and write a food review about it. Please keep us updated.

  2. Thanks AJ! Sorry for the late reply! I should indeed write a post about how egg prata CAN be eaten as part of a healthy diet, haha!

Leave a Reply

