What about second breakfast?

What-about-second-breakfast

Over the course of the last few months, I’ve discovered many things about how my eating habits affect my weight, energy and hunger levels. Many were discovered by trial and error, and some speak volumes about old bits of wisdom we already know. One of these is the importance of breakfast.

For about two months now, I’ve been having two breakfasts. The first one I take the moment I wake up – it’s almost the first thing I do these days on a working day. Two things inspired me to do this: one, the fact that I go to bed with an empty stomach (not necessarily hungry – but since I do not snack anymore at night, theoretically my stomach is empty when my head hits the pillow). Two, because we should not sit down after eating – thus, it seems logical that having breakfast before setting off on the hour-long journey to work would be a good idea.

I ate a variety of things when I decided on this course, but in the last month or so I’ve settled on one particular thing for First Breakfast: Post Honey Bunches of Oats cereal with two fresh strawberries. It’s tasty, it’s light, it’s healthy and surprisingly, this particular cereal by Post is not very high in the carb rating (my trainer was skeptical until I showed him the nutrition info table).

I have sensed that this particular meal seems to do enough magic for my system to help weight loss. When I started this, my weight consistently fell. I attribute this to the fact that having an ample breakfast (in this case, two breakfasts) keeps hunger down for the rest of the day. For me at least – if I fail to eat enough for breakfast, I am unusually hungry throughout the rest of the day – and this is very bad because I’ll tend to snack.

I found this exact phenomenon happening even on weekends where I wake up late and have a late breakfast, say at 9.15am. I don’t allow myself to wolf down a single huge breakfast to make up for it, so in effect I eat less than usual. Unfortunately this often makes me rather peckish for the rest of the day.

Splitting breakfast in two on the other hand allows me to eat one small breakfast at the break of day, and a second medium-sized breakfast when I reach office. This supports the notion of having many small meals a day instead of three big meals, too. I find myself feeling better fed for the day, and can thus eat less.

The hobbits may seem to eat a lot, but they probably got the right idea about having many meals.

 

Leave a Reply

