Salt

Trainer and I were a little mystified when my weight went up by 400 grams today, since Wednesday. Diet was fine… Sleep was ok…. and most important, I sensed no weight increase. (I can sense it when my weight goes up – a topic for a future post)

After a bit of thought my trainer decided it might be water retention. The weather’s been cold all day, by Singapore standards. I’d been drinking my usual amount of water despite that and didn’t pee much throughout the day. Finally there is that two sausages for dinner on Wednesday night and smoked salmon salad last night.

Well by the end of the gym session I’d lost 200 grams of what should be water.

Lesson learnt: water weighs a lot. Keep your sodium down!

Leave a Reply

