Nuts, Cereal and Raisin Snack

I keep a bottle of this in the office.

Img_4305

It’s a mixture of baked walnuts, baked almonds, breakfast cereal and raisins. Lately I’ve also added baked cashews. It’s a relatively healthy snack that also gives an energy boost. I first concocted this because it was difficult to find an appropriate food to eat two hours before my 7 o’clock gym sessions. I feed myself a couple of handful of these whenever I need a little snack or I’m due for gym later.

HOWEVER, do be careful and moderate – most nuts contain high amounts of fat. While it’s not quite the same sort of fat as fried fats in potato crisps and other evil snacks, it’s still fat. My trainer and I have noticed that if I snack too much on nuts, my fat seems to go up too. Still, you can do much worse than nuts.

Buy good almonds – the type that’s got a fragrant, oily, nutty taste. You may notice almonds have very high fat content listed on the package, but don’t worry too much as it’s good fat. Almonds are high in monounsaturated fats, the health-promoting kind similar to that in olive oil, which have been associated with reduced risk of heart disease. It’s quite dumb that some packages I’ve seen do not identify what kind of fat it is.

In any case, when you buy these nuts, pick only that which is baked or roasted. There should be NO OTHER INGREDIENT such as salt, oil or sugar!

For the breakfast cereal, choose your own favourites – naturally, something that isn’t overly sugar-laden. The one I’m using is Kellogg’s Special K Red Berries cereal, which is quite healthy as cereals go. As for raisins – the traditional Sun Maid’s will do!

Remember: nuts are a good nutritious snack, but watch out for the fats!

Leave a Reply

